Australia Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad

Australia Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad 2022 – Team to play NZ

Australia Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad 2022

A month after helping Australia lift the Sevens World Cup, Sharni Williams lines up for the Wallaroos in their 15s Rugby World Cup opener against New Zealand.

Williams is joined by fellow sevens player Bienne Terita in the match-day squad while lock Sera Naiqama also makes her first Test start.

The Wallaroos have already lost three times to the Black Ferns in 2022 but will be hoping to change their fortunes in front of a record crowd at Eden Park on Saturday.

Coach Jay Tregonning said: “As rugby players, what could be better than opening a Rugby World Cup in front of a record-breaking crowd against the host nation? We want to use that energy to really inspire us, and feed our performance.”

Australia team to play New Zealand – Saturday 8 October

Pauline Piliae-Rasabale; Bienne Terita, Georgina Friedrichs, Sharni Williams, Ivania Wong; Arabella McKenzie, Iliseva Batibasaga; Liz Patu, Adiana Talakai, Bridie O’Gorman, Sera Naiqama, Atasi Lafai, Emily Chancellor, Shannon Parry (captain), Grace Hamilton.

Replacements: Ashley Marsters, Emily Robinson, Eva Karpani, Michaela Leonard, Grace Kemp, Layne Morgan, Trilleen Pomare, Lori Cramer.

Australia Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad 2022

Australia’s preparation for the 2022 Rugby World Cup has not been ideal.

In July 2021, then head coach Dwayne Nestor resigned after a recording where he and assistant Matt Tink used derogatory language about players emerged. New coach Jay Tregonning, who had never previously led an international side, came in.

Tregonning has eased the transition by emphasising the creation of a welcoming, open environment within the Wallaroos camp, but results on the pitch have not reflected the positive developments elsewhere.

After winning their opening game under Tregonning against Fiji, Australia lost their next six and will head to New Zealand short on form.

Tregonning named his 32-woman squad for the Rugby World Cup in early September.

Back-rower Shannon Parry will captain the Wallaroos at what will be her fourth World Cup, while two players from the sevens set-up are included – Bienne Terita, who scored a brace on her debut last month, and the experienced Sharni Williams. They will join the squad after the Sevens World Cup in Cape Town.

“The named squad has experience and depth, and we are looking forward to showing our continued improvement at the Rugby World Cup,” Tregonning said.

“It is important to acknowledge the whole squad, including those that have missed out on selection. Although disappointed, the players that have missed out have continued to train hard in their state-based training sessions and are committed to helping make their teammates stronger.”



Iliseva Batibasaga (23 Mar 1985/NSW Waratahs/Scrum-half/22)

Lori Cramer (NSW Waratahs/Full-back/11)

Georgina Friedrichs (14 Apr 1995/NSW Waratahs/Centre/7)

Arabella McKenzie (1 Mar 1999/NSW Waratahs/Fly-half, Full-back/11)

Layne Morgan (NSW Waratahs/Scrum-half/8)

Mahalia Murphy (19 Jan 1994/NSW Waratahs/Centre/18)

Siokapesi Palu (Brumbies/Centre/1)

Pauline Piliae-Rasabale (NSW Waratahs/Centre/6)

Trilleen Pomare (5 Apr 1993/Western Force/Fly-half/18)

Cecilia Smith (13 Mar 1994/Queensland Reds/Wing/4)

Maya Stewart (13 Mar 2000/NSW Waratahs/Wing/Uncapped)

Bienne Terita (Australia Sevens/Wing/1)

Sharni Williams (2 Mar 1988/Australia Sevens/Centre)

Ivania Wong (Queensland Reds/Wing/4)


Emily Chancellor (NSW Waratahs/Back-row/12)

Bree-Anna Cheatham (Queensland Reds/Prop/1)

Piper Duck (1 Mar 2001/NSW Waratahs/No 8/7)

Grace Hamilton (4 Apr 1992/NSW Waratahs/Back-row/21)

Eva Karpani (NSW Waratahs/Prop/9)

Grace Kemp (Brumbies/Back-row/2)

Atasi Lafai (7 Dec 1995/NSW Waratahs/Lock/5)

Kaitlan Leaney (NSW Waratahs/Lock/7)

Michaela Leonard (6 Apr 1995/Brumbies/Lock/11)

Ashley Marsters (2 Nov 1993/Melbourne Rebels/Hooker/17)

Tania Naden (Brumbies/Hooker/Uncapped)

Sera Naiqama (26 Jul 1995/NSW Waratahs/Lock/3)

Bridie O’Gorman (NSW Waratahs/Prop/7)

Shannon Parry (27 Oct 1989/Queensland Reds/Back-row/19)

Liz Patu (15 Jul 1989/Queensland Reds/Prop/29)

Emily Robinson (6 Feb 1993/NSW Waratahs/Prop/13)

Madison Schuck (Queensland Reds/Prop/5)

Adiana Talakai (NSW Waratahs/Hooker/4)

Australia Women’s Rugby World Cup Fixtures 2022

(All kick-off times are UK & Ireland time)

Pool A

Sat 8 Oct, Australia v New Zealand (7.15am, Eden Park, Auckland)

Sat 15 Oct, Scotland v Australia (3am, Northland Events Centre, Whangarei)

Sat 22 Oct, Australia v Wales (2.15am, Northland Events Centre, Whangarei)

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Source link

About milonshil

Check Also

Wasps go into administration

Wasps go into administration – All players made redundant

Wasps go into administration Wasps have gone into administration, becoming the second Gallagher Premiership club …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *